## **NEWS RELEASE**



**Immediate Release** 

**Contact:** Heidi Guerra **Phone:** 202.785.6923 **Email:** geurra@actuary.org

## American Academy of Actuaries Honors Julia Philips with Myers Award

WASHINGTON – 15 Oct. 2012—The American Academy of Actuaries presented the 2012 Robert J. Myers Award for Public Service to Julia Philips, MAAA, FSA, during a ceremony held earlier today. Phillips was selected in recognition of her extraordinary contributions to the public good over more than 30 years of service as an actuary. She currently serves as a Life and Health Actuary with the Minnesota Department of Commerce in St. Paul.

"As an actuary and a fellow Minnesotan, I can attest first-hand to Julia's skill as an actuary and leadership on behalf of the profession," said Academy President **Dave Sandberg**, who presented the award to Philips. "Julia's impact on the profession, both through her work as a public actuary and through her volunteer service to the profession, has set a standard to which all who know her and work with her aspire."

In addition to her work at the Minnesota Department of Commerce, Philips has served in leadership positions with the National Association of Insurance Commissioners as well as the Actuarial Standards Board and the Actuarial Board for Counseling and Discipline. Nominated for the Myers Award by several Academy members, Philips was described as a thought leader for the profession and as someone who always generously contributes her time, talents, and knowledge to ensuring actuaries meet high standards in their work.

Philips currently serves on the Task Force on regulatory Filings of the Actuarial Standards Board and she is a member of the Premium Review Subgroup and the Medicare Part D RBC Subgroup, both of the Academy's Health Practice Council. She has served on nearly 20 Academy councils, committees, and work groups dating back to 1993, including work on Medicare, long-term care, risk-based capital, state health issues, communications, and more.

(more)

## 2-2-2 – PHILIPS HONORED BY ACTUARIES

The annual award is named for **Robert J. Myers**, who helped structure and fund the nation's largest social insurance program in history during his tenure as the chief actuary of the Social Security Administration from 1947 to 1970. The award was established in 1994 to honor Myer's lifelong commitment to public service. The award is bestowed upon an actuary who has distinguished himself or herself through many years of service in the public sector.

For more information or digital photos from today's ceremony, please contact Heidi Guerra of the American Academy of Actuaries, at 202.785.6923 or Guerra@actuary.org For more information on the American Academy of Actuaries, please visit: <u>www.actuary.org</u>.

###

The American Academy of Actuaries is a 17,000-member professional association whose mission is to serve the public and the U.S. actuarial profession. The Academy assists public policymakers on all levels by providing leadership, objective expertise, and actuarial advice on risk and financial security issues. The Academy also sets qualification, practice, and professionalism standards for actuaries in the United States.